Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve learned to make very complicated pastries, and I think I can make them pretty consistently. Croissants, souffles, bread, and various cakes, but the one thing I haven’t made successfully is, ironically, cookies. The most basic American dessert. Until this time, all my chocolate cookies have been failures. I had half a bag of leftover chocolate chips from the last time my boyfriend, J, and I tried to make them. But it would be boring to make plain ol’ chocolate chip cookies, and I hate boring. So instead of using normal butter I decided to use brown butter!

Brown butter, or buerre noisette, is easy to make. I learned it here from Poires au Chocolat. Basically its just boiling butter until the water has evaporated and the butter turns amber, kind of like making caramel. Since the chocolate chip cookie I wanted to use called for melting butter, I decided to try browned butter instead. Browned butter has this amazing nutty flavor to it, and it definitely made my cookies more interesting. Browned butter is not suitable for recipes that don’t call for melting the butter because, well, browning it melts the butter! Also, I should note that browning butter removes water from the recipe, which may or may not matter depending on the recipe. I loved the flavor, so perhaps I will use it again the near future (banana bread maybe?).

The original recipe is Alton Brown’s “The Chewy” chocolate chip cookie which can be found here.

Chocolate Chip Cookies 1

Ingredients
  • 4 ounces unsalted butter(1 stick)
  •  6 ounces bread flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 ounces granulated sugar
  • 4 ounces dark brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 0.7 ounce whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 6 ounces semisweet chocolate chips

Procedure

  1. Take the butter and bring it to a boil on medium heat in a small pot/pan. Keep on letting it boil until you start to smell the browned butter and see it turn brown. There will be brown/black spots in the butter, which are toasted milk solids. Be careful not to burn them. You may choose to include them in your cookies – I did. Set aside to cool
  2. Put the butter in the mixing bowl and add both sugars. Mix.
  3. Sift the flour, salt, baking soda, and add it in 3 parts into the butter/sugar mixture.
  4. Crack an egg in a bowl, add milk and vanilla extract and whisk together. Add it to the dough. Mix thoroughly.
  5. Mix in the chocolate chips. Cover and chill in the fridge for an hour.
  6. Bake cookies at 375F for about 10~12 minutes, until the edges are a little darker.
Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

