Ultimate Chocolate Cupcakes with Ganache Filling

Ultimate Chocolate Cupcake with Ganache Filling 3

Finally, a second post for my Saturday Baking Project! I have been really busy previous Saturdays due to student org activities, and the products turned out not as amazing as I wanted it to be, so I didn’t post about it. This week, I chose a recipe from my The Science of Good Cooking cookbook, which is definitely one of my favorite cookbooks so far. I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a couple of weeks, and given that its the week of Valentine’s day, I think chocolate cupcakes are very suitable.

Ultimate Chocolate Cupcake with Ganache Filling 1

Makes a dozen

Filling:
2 oz bitter sweet chocolate, chopped fine
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 tbsp confectinoers’ or granulated sugar

Cupcakes:
3oz. bitter sweet chocolate, chopped fine
1 oz Dutch-processed cocoa
3/4 cup brewed coffee, hot
4 1/8 oz bread flour
5 1/4 oz sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
6 tbsp vegetable oil
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons of distilled white vingar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Procedure:

  1. For the filling: Microwave chocolate, cream, and sugar in a medium bowl until mixture is warm to the touch, about 30 seconds. Whisk until smooth and then transfer bowl to refrigerator and let sit until just chilled, no longer than 30 minutes
  2. For the cupcakes: Line 12-cup muffin tin with paper or foil liners. Place chocolate and cocoa in a medium bowl, and pour hot coffee mixture and let sit, covered, for 5 minutes. Whisk gently until smooth, then transfer to refrigerator to cool completely about 20 minutes.
  3. Whisk flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda together in medium bowl. Whisk oil, eggs, vinegar, and vanilla into cooled chocolate mixture until smooth. Add flour mixture and whisk until smooth.
  4. Using an ice cream scoop or large spoon, divide batter evenly among prepared muffin cups. Place 1 slightly rounded teaspoon ganache filling on top of each portion of batter. Bake cupcakes until set and just firm to the touch at 350F, 17 t o19 minutes. Cool cupcakes.

I thought it was a great recipe, mostly due to the ganache filling. I did not make the frosting because I was lazy. Reading the recipe now, I realized that I forgot cocoa powder, which is why the cake lacked a deep chocolate flavor. The recipe called for distilled white vinegar, but I didn’t have any on hand so I used rice vinegar, so maybe that’s why it tastes strange. I also didn’t have vegetable oil so I used olive oil… but that’s okay, the delicious ganache filling made up for it. Despite the flavor being off, it was a tender and moist cake. I’m sure the cake itself is a great recipe if I actually did it right =(. I’m not the brightest during the early hours of Saturday morning.

Look at the bubbly ganache filling!

Look at the bubbly ganache filling!

I have to warn you though: wait for it to cool before eating! As much as ganache delicious, burning your tongue on hot ganache is not.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

