Restaurant Week Winter 2013 – Avenue B

Pittsburgh Winter Restaurant Week 2013 was last week, so Avenue B is the second place I went. Their prix fixe menu had 3 courses: a soup or salad, a choice between 3 entrees, and dessert.  Avenue B is one of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh, so I had high expectations. I decided to go for soup and the meatloaf entree.

3 different types of bread

3 different types of bread

First of all, I liked the bread that they served. The butter was sweetened, so it added a nice sweetness to all the breads. There was white bread, sourdough, and multi-grain, I think, all of which were delicious. The only thing I didn’t like was that the bread wasn’t warm, but otherwise they were delicious.

Roasted apple & rutabaga soup, apple slaw, frisee, guanciale

Roasted apple & rutabaga soup, apple slaw, frisee, guanciale

The first course was delicious. I liked the strong taste of rutabaga, which is a Swedish turnip. The taste reminded me of daikon radish soup I am used to having at home. It was also sweet and sour, which presumably comes with the taste of apples. Guanciale, is an unsmoked Italian bacon, which was delicious and went well with the soup. I do wish they put a little more. The broth they used was also very, very good.

Kobe meatloaf, goat cheese & chive whipped potatoes, crispy onions, tomato jam

Kobe meatloaf, goat cheese & chive whipped potatoes, crispy onions, tomato jam

The second course is the Kobe meatloaf. It was amazing. The meatloaf was, juicy, light, and incredibly flavorful. I could have eaten three of them and would have wanted more. The fried onions were sweet and delicious. The mashed potatoes were fluffy and on the tangy side, with a strong taste of green onions. Overall, this entree, was so, so good, and I think I liked it because each component was very successful at bringing the flavors of the ingredients out.

Caramel blondie torte, pretzel butter cream, bruleed apple

Caramel blondie torte, pretzel butter cream, bruleed apple

Finally, the dessert was a caramel torte with bruleed apples. I also ordered a orange rooibos tea, which was definitely the right move. The caramel torte is basically two delicious squares of twix with sweetened butter(?) in the middle. I thought it was definitely on the sweet side, but my citrus tea cut through that and made both more delicious. The bruleed apples though, were genius. I loved the sweet caramel on tangy apples – simple and elegant. The dessert was very, very good, which definitely lived up to my expectations.

Have you ever been to Avenue B? What do you think?

Avenue B
5501 Centre Ave  Pittsburgh, PA 15232
(412) 683-3663

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

