Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien is a French Cafe/bakery chain in New York City.  Still, the amount of delicious pastries and bread they offer is just ridiculous. I stumbled upon this place and decided to have lunch here. I ordered Earl Grey Tea, Grilled Chicken & Smoked Mozzarella Tartine, and an apple cannele.

Tea set

I think overall they are trying to go for a classy but rustic feel. All the tables and chairs are wooden, but the tea set is a beautiful white. The tea came in a tea bag with hot water and cream on the side. It was good tea.

Grilled Chicken & Smoked Mozzarella with arugula and basil pesto

This was the first tartine I have ever had, and it was very delicious. I loved the artisan bread, and each bite was a world of delicious flavors. My favorite was incorporating the radishes on the tartine, although the pickles went really well too. They used very smokey and slightly firm mozzarella, which I loved. The only problem I had with this dish was the chicken. It was brined, but other than that it didn’t lend much flavor. Overall I’m not a big fan of chicken I suppose.

Apple Cannele

Having just had authentic canelé from Dominique Ansel Bakery, I was not impressed by this psuedo cannele. However, it was a delicious treat in and of itself – sticky and slight caramelized exterior, moist and chewy interior was good. There were also solid chunks of apple. I would have loved to try some of their other pastries, but the tartine was really filling – I almost couldn’t finish the cannele.

Afternoon Tea Time

I think this place is a great location for breakfast, lunch, or afternoon tea. Their tasty breads, amazing pastries, and rustic atmosphere were all memorable.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

