Dominique Ansel Bakery @ NYC

I first heard of canelé from chow.com, where they had this one video about the best canelé in the US. By their description, crispy caramelized interior plus a custard interior mesmerized me, and I was determined to get such a rare treat on my trip to New York. (On a side note, if you look at the recipe for a canelé it looks like pancake batter, or crêpes batter… count it on the French to make simple things so complicated.) Then there’s kouign amann. Serious Eats is crazy about this stuff, but this bakery seemed to specialize in selling these delicacies as well so that also went on my list.

Canele and a Kouign Amann

The canelé was everything I had expected. Sweet and caramelized, the exterior indeed was a shell that produced a nice crunch when I bit into it. The interior was a like a custard cake, super moist but also chewy. I think I would have liked this treat to be baked (say, in my handy dandy toaster oven) so that the exterior could be more crunchy and the interior warm. However, it was definitely very good, and I would most definitely come back again next time I’m in NYC.

Kouign Amann

The kouign amann was better than the canelé, I have to say. It was also very much caramelized, so the exterior was crunchy. The interior was sweet and fluffy. This was also my first time trying this treat, and I definitely love it.

Long story short, I couldn’t imagine visiting NYC again without coming back to this place.

The innards of a tasty kouign amann

Tagged

Leave a Reply

