Magnolia Bakery @ NYC

Apparently featured a lot in Sex and the City?

Although I am not a big fan of cakes in general, Vanilla Pastry Studio has convinced me that cupcakes can be mind-blowingly amazing. My friend told me about Magnolia Bakery which she loved, and I happened to stumble upon this place while I was lost. You would be surprised as to how many times that happens given that I have a smart phone. =( But discovering things to eat is always fun.

(Also, me and Jinxi had plans to go to Sprinkles because we both redeemed a buy 1 get 1 free offer from Facebook, but we completely forgot it and it expired.)

I got a peanut butter and jelly cupcake and a red velvet cheesecake (my friend’s recommendation).

This cupcake, might I add, is what caused me to convert from smooth peanut butter to crunchy peanut butter!

I have to say, having gone to so many cupcake stores, this place really doesn’t frost their cupcakes very well. One of the cupcakes had lopsided frosting that was falling off to the side, and I wasn’t that impressed with my own cupcake either. However, I think the peanut butter makes up for that. I am a fan of peanut butter, given, but I thought the frosting was delicious – creamy, fragrant, and the salted peanuts was very crunchy, giving it a textural contrast and that salty-sweet combination I so love. The jelly was minimal, towards the center and top of the cupcake (somehow still inside the cupcake), and it was some sort of fruit. I wasn’t sure what flavor the cake was (who cares about cake?), but it was light and fluffy which I liked. If I came back I would definitely order it again.

I carried the red velvet cheesecake around with me all day, so now that its super beat up I won’t take a picture of it. It has a chocolate cookie crust and whipped cream on top. I also left it in the fridge for a few days before eating it, so the crust had picked up some smells from the fridge (uh, shitake mushroom?) and the whipped cream was all strange and crumbly. I don’t like whipped cream so I just swept it aside. Despite its lack of freshness, this cheesecake was amazing. The cake itself is creamy but lighter than I expected. The crust was delicious as well. I found that I couldn’t stop myself from making the next bite. I’m sure I would have devoured it whole in 5 seconds if I had it fresh. Magnolia really does produce amazing baked goods.

Tagged

One thought on “Magnolia Bakery @ NYC

  1. Jinxi says:

    Oh.Em.Gee. that peanut butter cupcake sounds so yummy! :9

Leave a Reply

