Twice baked cookie

I woke up to the darkest, gloomiest summer day in Pittsburgh, which ironically only made me think of home. During the rainy season, there are a lot of days where the first thing I do after waking up (aside from turning the AC on) is to turn on the lights. Of course, typhoon days are incredibly dark as well. But because of the gloominess, my photos of these crunchy biscotti don’t have good lighting. There’s only so much I can do in photoshop, unfortunately

You can even feel the gloominess in the background

Biscotti are surprisingly easy to make. It is basically a dense quick bread/cookie baked twice. Oh also, its hella sugary.

Original Recipe from Serious Eats.

Ingredients

  • 5oz all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoon (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3.5 ounces sugar
  • 1 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • lots of almonds and dried apricots (I didn’t measure)

Procedures

  1. Whisk together dry ingredients.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together, until fluffy. Add the egg and mix until smooth.
  3. Bring the two together into a dough. Add chopped almonds (I coarsely chopped them) and apricots (I cut them into fourths), and mix just until incorporated.
  4. Form into a 13x2inch log.

    I added a little too much nuts and fruit, so my log kind of fell apart when I moved it to the cutting board =(

  5. Bake at 350F for roughly 35 minutes, until the top starts to crack
  6. Allow to cool, and transfer to a cutting board. Cut diagonally to make individual cookies, about 1/2 inch to 3/4 inch. How thick will depend on how much filling you added. Be careful when cutting; they are very brittle. Cut straight up an down to get evenly shaped cookies. The dough should look a little under baked at this point.
  7. Return those to a 325F oven for about 15 minutes, flipping the slices halfway through. Since my cookies seemed to be a little thicker/bigger, I actually left them in the oven for 10 minutes per side.
  8. Let cool for an hour. They will harden when they are cooler.

So many little pieces because I broke my log =(

The more nuts/fruits you add to your biscotti, the thicker you’re going to have to cut them.

This is a super easy recipe, and I encourage all of you to try =)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

