4th of July dessert potluck?

So for the 4th of July, I attended a potluck. Now, there are 3 bakers amongst us, oh, 8 or 9 people, and when I first arrived it seemed like our dinner potluck would end up as a dessert potluck. Although that would be an amazing idea, I wasn’t exactly excited about eating desserts for dinner. Thankfully, the people who came by later all brought real food, and so the day was saved.

Anyway, since it is summer, and since I had some shortbread left over, I decided to make peach shortbread, a recipe also from Smitten Kitchen. However, I obviously did not follow her recipe at all since I had leftover shortbread dough from making those rhubarb tarts. And well, since the recipe is basically just shortbread, layered with peaches and then a layer of crumble, I won’t be posting the recipe again. I used up the rest of the shortbread dough from last time, and here are some pictures of it.

Cut the peaches into thin slices. I used 2 peaches.

I only covered a part of my baking pan because I felt like I didn’t have enough dough. Reserve 1/3 of the dough for the crumble.

Put a single layer of peaches onto the shortbread

The “crumble” was hard to do because during thawing, my shortbread picked up a lot of moisture from the humid air

I cut them into squares

Sort of success?

So, I don’t think these shortbread cookies were what I was hoping for. For one, the center pieces were not crunchy, which is what I want out of shortbread. I probably could have done a blind bake like I did with the tarts in order to get the level of crunchiness I wanted. Also, the crumble… didn’t turn out the way I had envisioned it either. It fell off really easily, and since the dough wasn’t actually crumbly to being with, they were more just like dough bits sitting on top of the peaches. I think what happened was that during thawing (I froze the shortbread dough after last time), the dough picked up tons of moisture from the air, so it held together a lot more than last time, and so when I tried to make a “crumble” out of it, they ended up just being dough pieces. I had a different vision for this dessert, but overall the peaches were really good and the shortbread certainly wasn’t bad. Oh well, can’t be super successful all the the time, I guess.

Also, here are some (crappy) pictures of our potluck from my Evernote Food app =)

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

