Aladdin’s Eatery

I have to say, the first time I’ve ever had somewhat authentic Mediterranean food, I did not like it at all. A lot of yogurt and lemons were used, and coming from Taiwan, I was not accustomed to sour flavors.  However, I have come to love good hummus and well made bowls of yogurt, mostly from Ali Baba on Craig St. However, we decided to go here since I wanted Mediterranean food and trying something new is always fun.

Like most franchises and chain stores, this place is average.  We ordered Baba (which is their version of baba ganoush), the Mediterranean Shish Kabob Plate, Sultan’s Shawarma Pitza, and Beef Shawarma Rolled. Their menu doesn’t actually have a big selection even though it seems like it. Pitza and rolls and pockets are basically just where the meat/filling goes: on top, in a roll or on the inside.  However, the pitza portions are bigger, and it has been toasted so parts of it were nice and crunchy.

Baba served with pita bread

The pita bread is obviously store bought, but warms so it was tastey. I have never had Baba ganoush elsewhere, but I liked it because it was very garlicky and smooth. I think I might even like it more than hummus! Other than that, it was typical.

Shish kabob plate

The plates come with rice, almonds (?), tahini yogurt sauce and garlic sauce, and then heavily seasoned meat. The meat was hard and tough to chew, but I thought the seasoning was nice.

Sultan’s Shawarma Pitza

I felt like the meat from this dish tasted mostly the same as the shish kabob meat. Still tough and hard, but seasoned. I liked that the pita bread was crispy on the edges though. The roll was more or less the same as this dish, except less filling and rolled up.

Overall, a very, very average place, although I didn’t have high expectations anyway. They do have huge cakes that look good, but we were too full to eat more. They’re about half a foot tall, and probably a foot in diameter, so a slice of it was probably more than we could handle anyway. The one good thing about this place is that the prices are cheap, which is good for my wallet.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Aladdin’s Eatery

  1. Minxi says:

    Haha “SK” doesn’t like Mediterranean food either XD nice pictures! Esp. love the first one :)

Leave a Reply

