Pork Tenderloin with Apples

I’ve always disliked pork tenderloin.  Then again, I’ve also always not known how to cook it properly, like most Asians.  To me, it was a dry, tough piece of meat.  It was healthy though, which is what convinced me to keep trying until I got it right.  I figured that to know how to cook it right, I would need to know the internal temperature to cook it to, and no more than that.  The USDA says that 160F is the temperature pork should be cooked too, but watching Alton Brown’s good eats, he recommended 140F.  Of course I would listen to Alton Brown.

Another thing about making pork tenderloin tasting good is browning.  The tenderloin is such a thick piece of meat that seasoning seldom goes very far into the meat.  That causes a blood/pork/metal-like taste every single time.  I think this problem was solved when I figured out how to brown pork properly.  Searing makes flavors amazing, and should be done with all meats, in my opinion.

Anyway, the recipe I used this time I think I found off of punchfork, and can be found here.

Ingredients

  • 2 pork tenderloins
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and cut into slivers
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 Tbsp grapeseed oil or canola oil
  • 1 cube (10g) of chicken broth or beef borth
  • 1 cup dry white wine (can sub with apple brandy or apple cider)
  • 2 medium sized apples, peeled, cored, and sliced (I used granny smith apples)

Procedure

  1. Make slits in your pork and stuff garlic slices into it.  Season the pork with salt, pepper, and cumin.
  2. Brown the pork on all sides, about 10 minutes.

    My casserole pot is the only “pan” that I can brown anything in, and the pork tenderloin is obviously too big for it =(

  3. Take the pork out and put it into an oven at 400F.  Add the broth and white whine to the pork.  You want to cook the pork to around 140F, about 10 minutes.

    Nicely browned pork!

  4. Put your apples into the pan you used to brown the pork. Cook until tender. Remove and set aside.

    I should have peeled the apples too, but I was too lazy to do so.

  5. When the pork is done, let it rest on a cutting board for 10 minutes.  Take the juices+broth+white wine and put it back into the pan that had the browned pork and apples.  Cook the liquid until a gravy-like consistency.
  6. Serve! I cut my tenderloin into 1/4 inch pieces.

Success!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

