Matcha Souffle Roll

Summer = lots of time.

Biology research = a lot of down time waiting for things to grow.

Summer + Biology research = lots of updates(?)

Yesterday afternoon a good friend of mine and I decided to bake an Asian cake. I don’t plan on going back home to Taiwan this summer, so I was feeling very nostalgic of Asian cakes. Although I don’t typically like cakes or whipped cream, I like Asian cakes because they’re very soft and have a smooth texture, something that cakes here lack. Still, most Asian cakes are smothered in whipped cream (I wonder how they even make whipped cream, given that there is no such thing as heavy cream in Taiwan…) and I tend not to enjoy them. Anyway, I digress.

Since we didn’t have that much time yesterday, we decided to go with a very simple cake from Evan’s Kitchen, and the original recipe can be found here. Its just a simple flat chiffon/souffle/sponge/whatever-you-want-to-call-it cake and then rolled up with whipped cream. It turned out to be very soft and fluffy, which was what I was hoping for. However, we did bake it a few minutes too long, so the surface had caramelized making it hard to roll up. As ugly as it may seem, it was a very tastey cake and I suggest all of you to try.

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 30g unsalted butter
  • 60g cake flour
  • 5g matcha powder
  • 60ml milk
  • 85g granulated sugar

Note: I used confectioner’s sugar and I feel like that may have contributed to not being able to obtain stiff peaks with the egg whites. I was only able to get soft peaks and I went with it anyway. The original recipe calls for castor sugar, which is finer than granulated sugar, but I think granulated sugar should be fine too.

For the whipped cream:

  • 100ml whipping cream
  • 2 tsps confectioner’s sugar

Procedure:

  1. Combine egg, egg yolks, and vanilla extract and beat until combined
  2. Sift together flour and matcha powder.
  3. Melt the butter in a small sauce pan and add the cake flour and and matcha powder. Add the egg mixture a little at a time while stirring.
  4. Strain the mixture because there will be clumpy matcha powder.
  5. Beat the egg whites to stiff peaks, and gradually add the sugar in the process. Fold the matcha “sauce” into the egg whites carefully
  6. Pour onto baking pan lined with parchment paper. The original recipe suggested 11″x11″, while I used a 9″x13″. Both works.
  7. Make the surface pretty =)
  8. Bake at 350F for 20 minutes. Check around 18 minutes. If it starts browning take it out immediately – browning makes the rolling part very difficult.
  9. Let the cake cool. You can also cut off the edges if they are very crusty.
  10. Whip up the whipped cream with heavy cream and sugar. Apply a thin layer on the cake.
  11. Roll it up! I would suggest to roll it up loosely to avoid cracking of the surface.

Since I don’t plan on perfecting this cake, these pictures will have to do. Maybe cutting off the browned portions would have helped too, but our cake was rather thin and I don’t have a bread knife. The original post at Evan’s kitchen shows a gorgeous green on the exterior, but the inside looks brown. I think the caramelized portion tastes delicious, but it just doesn’t look very pretty.

Our finished product

Try this recipe and tell me what you think!

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Matcha Souffle Roll

  1. This looks cool, I’ve wanted to try Matcha powder ever since I heard about it – does it genuinely taste like green tea, or is it sweeter? It doesn’t look ugly at all, in fact I’m really impressed by the neat roll :) x

    • Hi Emily, yes, matcha powder does taste like green tea! Matcha powder is green tea leaves ground up into powder form, and the one I bought does not contain any sugar (most authentic matcha powder don’t). In fact, if you drink matcha the way the Japanese do, it can be quite bitter. Its quite expensive though, about 6 dollars for 30 grams of it.

      I think it only looks pretty in this picture because we have carefully concealed the cracked part of the cake through perfect angles, haha. Thanks though! The recipe was very simple, and I encourage you to try it =)

      • I might get some then, there’s an English tea company (tea pigs) that I really like and I’ve just looked, the prices aren’t that bad :)
        I’ll definitely try some Matcha recipes, your roll looks lovely x

Leave a Reply

