Apple Pork Chops

I love eating pork. In Taiwan, pork is the main form of meat being consumed (either that or my mom loves pork and doesn’t really like anything else), so when I first came to the States it was really hard for me to adjust to life without it. So when I go to the super market, I usually buy pork because its what I’m used to eating. This is one recipe that I tried and liked, so here I am to share it with you!

(Original recipe is from Budget Bytes)

Ingredients:

  • Pork chops (in bone or without, either is fine)
  • Olive Oil
  • Onion
  • Apples (I used gala apples, but I believe the point is sweet apples?)
  • Honey (replacement for sugar)
  • Cinnamon
  • Chicken Bullion
  • Water

Procedure:

  1. Heat oil in a pan, and pan-fry the pork chops a bit, so that its slightly browned on both sides (probably better to get it to be browner, but my pork chops were thin so I didn’t want to overdo it.) Salt one side only.
  2. Take it out and set it aside for later.

    Partly cooked pork chops

  3. Cook 1 thinly sliced onion and 1~2 apples (into wedges). Cook them for 2~3 minutes. Let it pick up the juices/oil from the pork chops. Don’t over cook them. They should still be crunchy when you move on to the next step.

    Cooking the onions and apple

  4. Add about 1 cup of water, 1Tbsp of honey/sugar (or more if you would like), 1 chicken bouillion block (about 4g), add cinnamon to taste (and/or nutmeg). Cook until water simmers.

  5. Add the pork chops back in, and cook until the sauce reduces to half of what you started with. It is better to let the sauce completely cover the pork chops but not necessarily the apples and onions. I found that it actually takes a sometime to reduce the water, and the apples and onions would become overcooked. I piled them on top of my pork chops to avoid this.

    Pork chops hidden under the apples and onions

  6. The dish is finished when the sauce has been reduced. Serve with onions & apples on the side, and pour some sauce on top of it for tastiness!

    Done!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

