Point Brugge Cafe

Point Brugge Cafe! I’ve been wanting to go to this place since Winter break, but I never got around to it since it was so freaking cold in Pittsburgh, and I didn’t know that my friend had a car until later. We had attempted once to go on Easter Sunday, but that day being Easter, it was unfortunately closed (Yes, I’m so fobby that I didn’t expect it). But anyway, my other friend, Ben, was also interested in going so I went with him last night and had dinner there.

The restaurant was really small, so even on a Wednesday night we had to wait for twenty minutes for the two of us.  I told him that their specialty was moules (mussels) and frites (fries) and so that’s all we ordered.  There are 3 types of sauces for the moules: garlic, red curry, and spicy tomato.  Both of us got the red curry (I was hoping he would get another one…) but he got the bigger platter with the frites.  It also came with a chunk of french bread which was also really good.  Overall, the meal was delicious.

Moules with Red Curry Sauce

He ate all of this plus 2 more pieces of bread...

The red curry sauce was really, really good.  It was made of coconut milk, basil, onions, and other amazing ingredients which I do not remember, but it made a great dipping sauces for moules, bread and frites.   The frites came with a thick mayonnaise-like sauce and it looked liked it had either green onions or something in them.  It was incredibly creamy.  The coating for the frites was amazing too.  Incredibly crispy and crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside, and I suppose lightly salted.  The moules were really fresh. They also didn’t have any seafood stench to it, or strong taste of innards (you know, like the brains of shrimps?).  It really took up the smell and taste of the sauce it was in.  I personally love anything that has basil in it, so the meal was definitely amazing, and I would definitely come back.  It was cheap for me – 13 dollars including tip, and of course we could always ask for more bread.

I also found out that my friend, Ben, was a black hole for food, but yet he’s so skinny.  I probably spent as much time watching him eat as eating, haha.   He really enjoyed his meal, saying that he would bring his future girlfriends to this restaurant (THANK ME ;D).

Amazingly delicious.  I can’t wait to go back again, especially when I’m old enough to have some beer with the meal =D.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

