Last Sunday: The Melting Pot

This is sort of a delayed post, but last Sunday me and a bunch of friends went to have some yummy yummy fondue .  It was located at Station Square so Neo-san had to drive us there.  Afterwards, we went up to Mt. Washington to look at the night view (is that what its called?).  There is supposedly a really good ice cream shop up on Mt. Washington, but I was too full to try some.  =(

Anyway, at The Melting Pot, we ordered cheese fondue and chocolate fondue.  Technically none of them are entres or real meal foods but I really wanted to save my stomach for chocolate fondue.  We ordered the spinach and artichoke fondue, which was Fontina and Butterkäse cheese, and then the fiesta cheese fondue, which had cheddar cheese with lager beer, jalapeño peppers and salsa.

Spinach & artichoke cheese fondue with dipping food (vegetables, assorted bread and granny apples)

Fiesta cheese fondue all melted

The “dipping foods” (again, no idea what to call it) had an assortment of breads (pumpernickel, rye and some others), raw vegetables (carrots, broccoli and cauliflower), and ganny smith apples.  I don’t really get apples with cheese… and thanks to not being able to smell anything  that day (haven’t been able to since I got a cold last time) I can’t really say if it was good or bad.  The fiesta cheese fondue also came with tortilla chips.  Overall, I thought the cheese fondue was okay.  Personally I think I liked the spinach and artichoke one better, but I only tried one bite of that.  But oh well, I’m not that fond of cheese anyway.  I was there for the chocolate fondue <3.

None of us ordered an entree (I guess even the guys weren’t hungry?) but two of us ordered a salad.  It wasn’t anything special so no pics, and we moved on to chocolate fondue.  We ordered the original, which was milk chocolate with peanut butter, and yin yang, which was a swirl of dark chocolate and milk chocolate.  We ordered the larger portion, so each pot came with two plates of dipping noms.

The Original chocolate fondue, with a spoon for getting the peanut butter

Yin & Yang chocolate fondue with oreo covered chocolate <3

Insanely good noms <3

The plate had 2 oreo marshmallows, 2 grahm cracker marshmallows, strawberries, banana slices, 2 pound cakes, 2 brownies, cheesecake, and 4 rice crispies.  My favorite ones were the fruits and marshmallows.  The chocolate fondue was insanely good, and also incredibly filling because its basically just pure sugar.  I tried the milk chocolate pot, but it was too sweet for my liking.  I think the dark chocolate was a bit too sweet too, but it was so could I couldn’t stop eating haha.  By the end of the meal I was so stuffed, but it was totally worth it, even with the fat I’ll gain from this meal.

The bill came down to 150+tax&tip for the 6 of us, which I think wasn’t that bad, given how full I was.  Although there was no entree, the amazing chocolate fondue makes up for everything.  I would definitely go again, even if its just for the chocolate fondue.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

