Pamela’s P&G Diner – Oakland

For my first post, I’m going to talk about the Sheep and my lovely brunch this morning – Pamela’s!  Pamela’s is really popular in Pittsburgh, so I’m only willing to go if we arrive the restaurant before 10.  Usually by noon there’s more than 20 people waiting outside the door (at all the Pamela’s locations I’ve seen so far) and I don’t think they accept reservations.  I’ve seen a lot of people order take out, but I’m not interested in cold food so we’ve always ate at the restaurant.

Anyway, this is actually my third time going to Pamela’s.  The first two times I tried their stuffed hotcakes – the Chocolate Chip Banana Hotcakes and the Banana Walnut Hotcakes.  Both were amazing, except a bit too greasy for my liking.  Also, for some reason the menus are different depending on which location you go to.  I don’t really get why they do that, but they do.  Also, they don’t accept card, which is kind of annoying, but I digress…

Only once slice of toast because I ate one haha

Butterrrrrr

This time I ordered chorizo patties with 2 eggs, lyonnaise potatoes and toast.  Chorizo is a kind of spicy sausage, and it was supposedly “fresh pressed.”  The lyonnaise potatoes were amazing, of course.  I think they were pretty much homefries that had were somewhat crispy. The toast was scarily buttery – a bite into the center of the toast would cause butter to ooze out.  Of course, everything was incredibly greasy (woot for greasy American diners) but the food tasted so good.

The Sheep got their Morning special, which was two eggs, three sausages and two hotcakes.  The hotcakes weren’t stuffed but it had butter on it.  He loves butter, and so he used all of the butter on the two slices of hotcakes.  The thing about the hotcakes that makes it so good is that its soft in the middle, but crunchy on the edges.  They’re thin, almost crepe like, but somehow also pancake like.  I personally don’t think the stuffed hotcakes are as good – they usually add whipped cream or sour cream, which makes the hotcakes soggy.  I hate soggy pancakes/hotcakes/crepes.  But anyway, is a picture of their famous stuffed hotcakes that I had last time.

Chocolate Chip Banana Hotcakes! You can see the chocolate chip and banana sticking out on the top right =)

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

